Annons:
Tagbest-of-sweden
Read 1554 times
Evelina
2019-06-23 21:28

Best way to navigate the dentist in Sweden

Hej! So I am wondering how going to the dentist works in Sweden. I no longer have coverage in the US, which is where I normally go to the dentist for yearly check ups and cleaning. Both my sambo and I are Swedish citizens and I don’t know if that matters. I am a student and he works full time, again I don’t know if that matters when going to the dentist and the cost. Specifically, I am looking to go to the dentist for a cleaning and a check up. While my sambo needs to get treated for several cavities, a cleaning, and to fix one of his (I don’t know what it’s called but essentially fake half of a tooth). We are located in Stockholm. 🙂

Annons:
Niklas
2019-06-24 13:06

Basically, you go to a dentist of choice. There are the state-owned Folktandvården (Peoples dental care) all over the country, and lots of private ones.

Make sure that the one you choose is affiliated with Försäkringskassan (I guess most, if not all, are). Then you are allowed a dental care subsidy. How much you get depends on your age. If you are 24 to 29 years old or over 64, the subsidy is 1,200 SEK over two years. Otherwise, it’s 600 SEK, except for children and people under 24. Their dental care is free (100 % state subsidized).

Also, for dental care costs of between 3,001 and 15,000 SEK over 12 months, the price is 50 percent state subsidized. For costs over 15.000 SEK, it is 85 percent state subsidized.

As you may have guessed, this is where some of the taxes we pay in Sweden goes. 🙂

City Dental advertises that they are low cost, speak multiple languages, highly competent, and the largest private dental clinic in the Nordics. I haven’t used them.

» Om oss | City Dental